Testimonials

testimonial

1. Taking the TESOL course at BEC was definitely a decision I didn’t regret making

Taking the TESOL course at BEC was definitely a decision I didn’t regret making. I’ve learned a lot from the Alvina and Kennedy! It was money well spent. Being a native speaker of the English language doesn’t mean one can actually teach English. I think every teacher, government or private should experience this. It’ll help them enrich their lessons and make them fun!

Read More

I look forward to my lessons everyday and I had great classmates! The trainers are walking testimonies as to how we can teach our potential students. Shoutout to Yu Chin as well! She’s very friendly and hardworking in making sure all my questions were answered and ensuring the process is smooth. The takeaway I have from this course is to love what you do, and it’ll show in your work, and students are only ready to learn when they’re emotionally engaged.

I highly recommend BEC to take your TESOL course but at the same time, it isn’t for everyone. Know what you want to gain from taking this course. Don’t expect to enroll and get away easy because work is definitely needed on your end. Nevertheless, you’ll come out satisfied when you complete the course!

Cassandra Boh – Singaporean, from Google Review, December 22, 2019

2. An experience of self-discovery for me

I’ve finally completed the TESOL course with BEC. It has been an amazing experience. I learned more than what i’ve expected to learn. I came in just to learn how to teach but came out learning more about myself too. So, it was also an experience of self-discovery for me.

The course helped me develop skills, techniques and helped me grow as a person.

Read More

I found encouragement with the people I’ve encountered and inspiration from the trainers and assessors.

Having completed the course left me happier, with more friends, and more confident with myself!

Miguel Nepomuceno – Philippines, from Google Review, July 10, 2019

3. Teaching methods were exceptional

I wanted a change in career and TESOL has been an interest of mine for a few years. I hunted around for a reputable course and after hours of research I chose to complete my TESOL Diploma with BEC. The course and modules were delivered in a professional and fun manner and Kennedy’s teaching methods were exceptional. I cannot thank BEC enough for their support throughout my journey. Special thanks to Kennedy and Yuchin (who is the heart and soul of BEC).

Jo Rathbone – New Zealand, from Google Review, January 22, 2019

4. Great and memorable!

My TESOL learning journey with BEC has been great and memorable! The trainers are professional and inspiring, and BEC team is always accommodating. The training materials, teaching techniques and classroom activities were really valuable, fun and engaging. I enjoyed every class of the course. The classroom has a welcoming atmosphere and the centre’s library is full of resources for teacher trainees. Throughout the course, I met a lot of friendly and supportive classmates from different countries. Choosing BEC to do the TESOL course was the right decision that I made. Thank you, BEC, for fulfilling my wish to follow my passion to be an English teacher.

Shwe Waddy Michelle – Myanmar, from Google Review, January 22, 2019

5. I spent 1 month learning an intensive course at BEC

I spent 1 month learning an intensive course at BEC. And in this one-month intensive course, not only did I get the chance to learn new things but also had the chance to make new friends. BEC provides the most quality course of TESOL that I have ever experienced. The trainer and BEC staffs are really friendly and helpful. Thank you for everything, BEC.

Mai Phuong Hong An – Vietnam, from Google Review, November 1, 2018

6. Lessons were fun and engaging

It was a special and meaningful journey for me learning at BEC.

What makes BEC so unique is not only the solid content of the course or the warm and homely environment, but the passionate people who are committed to make education enriching and truly beneficial.

I think a great teacher is one who nurtures with love and inspires his students to pursue their passions, I am blessed to meet one at BEC and that is Kennedy.

Read More

Yuchin, the operation director is another awesome and capable lady I admire much. She takes care of almost everything to ensure that you get the best support during your learning at BEC. Along I got to interact with amazing individuals who think and do things differently. I believe that people do not cross path by accident, I wouldn’t enjoy my course as much without everyone of them.

Lessons were fun and engaging but the tasks assigned could be challenging because they were meant to help us to get out of our comfort zone. The most difficult part for me was to overcome my own insecurity, but with the support and guidance from people around make the process much easier.

Thank you Kennedy, Yuchin, Bernie and the team for making a difference in my life, now it is my turn to pass it on

Carmen Chen – Singapore, from Facebook Review, March 31, 2018

Life after TESOL

1. I’ve really enjoyed working in the ESL industry and am grateful for the certification and training I received from BEC that helped me land my first job in China and start me on a career in ESL.

After graduating from college in 2010, I decided to take the TESOL Diploma at the British Education Centre over the summer before moving on to a job in China. As it was my first teaching job the TESOL Diploma provided me the teaching pedagogy and the tools to work with my students. I spent a year in Shenyang, Northeast China teaching university students and then decided to take a job with Education First (EF) in Shanghai. While I was at EF I was able to develop even more as a teacher and progress up the career ladder. From 2012 to 2014, I worked as both a supervisor and an education manager for a team of 14 international and local teachers. After taking a year out of work to study Chinese full-time I will be returning to work for EF in Beijing. In short, I’ve really enjoyed working in the ESL industry and am grateful for the certification and training I received from BEC that helped me land my first job in China and start me on a career in ESL.

Alan Goodyear, China, October 2015

2. I absolutely loved my experience of teaching in Malaysia

I have recently returned back to the UK, and so teaching English here isn’t as sought after ;). However, before I left, I taught English in Malaysia (over the border from Singapore in Johor Bahru). I focused on individual or pairs, and taught a mix of Chinese, local Malays and Europeans (age range 6-11). The Europeans tended to be expats who needed to improve their English to gain a place at the nearby British School. I found that there was a big demand for English teachers; I did not have to advertise my services as I found that word of mouth was enough to keep me very busy! The Chinese and Malays were looking for fluent/native speakers as they were particularly keen to ensure that their pronunciation and intonation were correct.

I absolutely loved my experience of teaching in Malaysia; the children were all so motivated, and seeing children gaining their entrance into the school they wanted to go to, or the great exam results they were getting as a result of practicing the language so much more was very rewarding. At first I tried to teach the way the parents expected; this was trickier for me with the Chinese parents as they had clear expectations on how lessons should be run, and it wasn’t necessarily my style. However, we found a compromise, and when the children were asking to come to my lessons because they enjoyed them, their parents quickly relented and let them learn whilst having fun. Because I taught from home, I found that I had mountains of props to use and keep things interesting: for instance I did painting with the younger children, and with the older children I did some baking with them so help practice their understanding and use of commands, numbers and vocabulary. We would also go outside, throw around a ball, and do counting, or I would ask them to label things in the house.

With one of my older students who had no English and very little concentration for writing/grammar, we spent most of a lesson where he just showed me Youtube clips of Basketball ‘fails’. But this got him talking and opening up. I think I had as much fun and learnt as much as the students!!

Malaysia is great because of the mix of nationalities; you can find yourself teaching Europeans, Chinese, Malays, Japanese, and learning so much about all the different cultures whilst you teach.

Evelyne Wilkinson, UK, Oct 2015

3. Teaching English in Bangkok does have its prospect

Hi everyone, my name is Ken. I attended TESOL courses at BEC in Singapore from February to July 2015. During the time I studied there, Alan, Marven and all my fellow classmates had always inspired me with insightful thoughts and valuable feedbacks. Upon obtaining the TESOL diploma in August 2015, I successfully found an ESL teaching position at a language center in the heart of Bangkok. Again, the solid training, practice and discussion at BEC did give me an all-round knowledge. Until now, I still put the TESOL knowledge into practice in my classroom planning everyday.

Teaching English in Bangkok does have its prospect. There is a great demand for English teaching in this international community in Bangkok. This is because students are only using English in school. Consequently, most parents will choose to send their children to English enrichment classes after school. 

Most of my students are mainly Thais or Japanese from international schools. These students have already learnt English through various materials or activities at their schools. What I need to execute in my class is to creatively put their language knowledge into practice. There are quite a lot of theme-based lessons I always include in my class, for example, “Global Citizen Conference”, “Little Scientist”, “Young Yogis” or “DIY Art & Craft” etc. Such lessons will give my students more opportunities to engage English with other subjects, thus making English learning fun and engaging.

Ken Chen Chun Wei, Taiwan, Oct 2016

4. Karl James Kerridge, Diploma in TESOL, 2017, from UK

5. Soon after I graduated I obtained a job teaching at a tutoring centre here in Singapore

Soon after I graduated, I obtained a job teaching at a tutoring centre here in Singapore. I have found the knowledge and skills gained at BEC to be very useful–especially regarding knowledge of phonics, which is one of the ways in which children can be taught to read. Putting my skills into practice has been a challenging and rewarding experience and has made me understand Singapore in a completely different light. The learning curve on this course and all the study I put into it have been worth it!

Annabel B. Roza, May 20, 2017

6. A short holiday that turned into a full time teaching position

Harriet Josey-Kerr,New Zealand

7. Wesley Goh, Diploma Course in TESOL, 2017, Singapore

8. After graduating I was lucky enough to find work straight away

I arrived in Singapore with high hopes of easily finding a job in risk management. After a few weeks of job hunting (exploring and sightseeing), my husband tactfully suggested I should “find something to do.” So I researched TESOL training and discovered a centre only ten minutes away from home: the British Education Centre. I called in and spoke to Yu Chin, did a sit-in class the same evening and enrolled for the course starting the following Monday.

The classes were probably harder work than I’d expected, but fun and very interesting. Head trainer Kennedy gave us all sort of tasks and activities and inspired us all the way. I made some good friends, too.

After graduating I was lucky enough to find work straight away with My English School, who run a number of enrichment centres. While not exactly ESL teaching, it has been fantastic experience and I’ve enjoyed trying out some of the techniques from the course.  I’ve also been doing some private ESL tutoring.

In November-December I’ve been training to be an IELTS teacher, so hopefully I will be able to work with some IELTS students in 2018.

January – March will see me leading the ESL conversational workshops at BEC, which is such an honour! I’m very excited about this; it will be great to be part of the BEC team.

Victoria Gibson, December 18, 2017

9. I have discovered that the employment opportunities when it comes to ESL teaching around the globe is endless

To be honest, ‘Life after TESOL’ was a little slow at first for me, but when an opportunity presented itself, it picked up really fast. I completed my Diploma in TESOL a few months back, and now I am employed by a leading International Language Campus in Singapore. I did not expect that and I am very grateful for how things have turned out thus far. Well, as the phrase goes “slowly but surely”.

Coming from a background of zero teaching experience, gaining such a valuable opportunity shows that my efforts in the course paid off handsomely. Apart from getting an ESL teaching job, the knowledge and skills gained during the course came in handy when planning lessons and especially, when conducting the lessons.

On top of that, I have discovered that the employment opportunities when it comes to ESL teaching around the globe is endless. Using my current employment as a stepping stone, I am excited at the possibilities of teaching overseas, being full-time employment or volunteering. It always feels good to know that I have the skills to make a difference in people’s lives, and that is what that keeps me going.

I think the most important thing is always keeping your head up, lots of patience and believing in yourself during the course, and life after it as well. As I move on towards this new path in a career of teaching, I look back knowing that I have made the right decision when I enrolled myself in the course. Most importantly, I am happy now, by simply teaching English.

Mohamed Zulkarnein Bin Mohamed Zainal bidin, February 21, 2018

testimonial

10. My trip to Bandung was a fruitful one.

My trip to Bandung was a fruitful one. Thanks to BEC, Yu Chin and Kennedy for organising this trip for us.I learned many things about teaching English outside my Tesol classroom.

My team in charge, Janice helped me a lot to “perfect” my lesson plan. My co-teacher, Chairul gave his inputs and feedback too. I saw how teaching aids should be made to make teaching effective. Through the process, I learned more what a good lesson should be. As I delivered the lesson, I learned about the learners’ needs and how I should tweak my “perfect” lesson plan to meet their needs. I learned too to think on my feet to emotionally engage the learners to make the lesson interesting for them.

Last but not least the trip was so much fun. There was bonding between the team members as we worked hard and played hard together.

I am so glad and thankful and this is a precious part of my Tesol learning journey.

Anna Tan, April 24, 2018

11. Janice Kwong, Diploma Course in TESOL, 2018, Singapore